SFWA Pacific Northwest Reading Series

  • 07 Jun 2011
  • 7:00 PM - 8:29 PM (EDT)
  • McMenamins Kennedy School, 5736 N.E. 33rd Ave. Portland, OR 97211


Registration is closed

SFWA Pacific Northwest Reading Series:
Session Two with Nancy Kress, Ted Chiang and Ursula K. Le Guin

The greater Pacific Northwest is home to Ursula K. Le Guin, Kay Kenyon, Jay Lake, Nancy Kress, Brent Weeks, Ted Chiang and Ramona Quimby. Although Ramona isn't known for her Science Fiction and Fantasy escapades, the rest are, and will be celebrated as part of the Pacific Northwest Reading Series. These free quarterly events provide the Northwest Science Fiction and Fantasy community a chance to gather, network and enjoy readings from local authors.

Each event starts with notes from the host, a leading local author, who has selected two of their favorite writers to complete the evening's theme. In turn, each is given time to read from their latest work, interpreting and explaining their concepts and vision. In addition, space is provided for networking and conversation.

This is the second session in the series and is hosted by Nancy Kress and features Ted Chiang and Ursula K. Le Guin.

A third session is scheduled for September 20th, and will be hosted by Cherie Priest, along with Mark Henry and Kat Richardson.

Set in the pub-like atmosphere of the McMenamins Kennedy School in Portland, OR, events begin at 7:00 pm, and end by 8:30 pm.

No tickets are required but please RSVP here so that we have a general idea of how many people are attending.

About SFWA

Founded in 1965 by the late Damon Knight, Science Fiction and Fantasy Writers of America brings together the most successful and daring writers of speculative fiction throughout the world. Since its inception, SFWA® has grown in numbers and influence until it is now widely recognized as one of the most effective non-profit writers' organizations in existence, boasting a membership of approximately 1,800 science fiction and fantasy writers as well as artists, editors and allied professionals.  Each year the organization presents the prestigious Nebula Awards® for the year’s best literary and dramatic works of speculative fiction.
© Science Fiction and Fantasy Writers of America
Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software